The IGCSE in Malaysia: 5 Things You Should Know

For their preschool, primary, secondary, and pre-university education, more parents are choosing to send their children to foreign schools in Malaysia. One of the most important reasons why parents are contemplating overseas education for their children is the ability to get globally recognised certifications.

The IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) is the international counterpart of the UK’s GCSE exams. Many foreign schools in Malaysia offer the IGCSE. The credential is internationally recognised, and it opens numerous avenues for students who desire to study locally or internationally.

Here are five facts regarding IGCSE in Malaysia that you should be aware of:

1. Two examination boards provide it.

The IGCSE is offered by two examination boards: Pearson Edexcel and Cambridge Assessment International Education. The Cambridge edition, on the other hand, is widely available in Malaysia. The Cambridge Examination Board originally established IGCSE in 1985, and it is comparable to O Levels. All examination papers in the United Kingdom are prepared and marked by Cambridge Assessment International Education.

2. There are approximately 70 IGCSE subjects to choose from.

International schools can choose from over 70 IGCSE disciplines and give them to their students in any combination. Thirty languages are included among the 70 disciplines. In general, students must take at least five topics in addition to the required ones. The Cambridge IGCSE emphasises knowledge application, critical thinking, flexibility, proficiency in the English language, and cultural understanding.

3. British or Cambridge Curriculum comes first.

In their last year of secondary school, students enrolled in foreign schools that offer the British or Cambridge International Curriculum take the IGCSE examinations. In Key Stage 4 of the British Curriculum, pupils study for the IGCSE (Year 10 and 11). IGCSE preparations, on the other hand, take place in the Cambridge International Curriculum throughout Cambridge Upper Secondary (14 to 16 years old).

4. Examinations are given twice a year.

In May and October of each year, the IGCSE tests are held. Students take their exams at foreign schools or private testing centres. The results are released twice a year, in August and January. Each topic is rated on a scale of A* to G, with A* being the best.

5. Malay was added to the IGCSE curriculum as a new subject.

Cambridge Assessment International Education stated in 2018 that IGCSE First Language Malay will be included to their curriculum. In September 2019, international schools will be able to offer the course. The first IGCSE First Language Malay test will be held in June 2021. Previously, Cambridge IGCSE only provided Malay Foreign Language to pupils who had no prior knowledge of the language. As a result, IGCSE First Language Malay is tailored to Malaysian students. It is vital to remember that at the SPM level, IGCSE First Language Malay is not equal to Bahasa Melayu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *